Album Review: Destroy Rebuild Until God Shows - 'D.R.U.G.S'

26 February 2011 | 3:42 pm | Staff Writer
Originally Appeared In

Some new screamo that is actually good.

More Destroy Rebuild Until God Shows More Destroy Rebuild Until God Shows

For front man Craig Owens, the lengthy title of his new band carries more weight and meaning than it may seem, especially the first two words, “destroy & rebuild.” As Owens explains, he was presented with a choice when the world he knew was destroyed, that world being his former band Chiodos that he fronted for eight years, he could give in or rebuild.

So he set about creating a band of good friends and better musicians including, Underminded guitarist Nick Martin, From First To Last guitarist Matt Good, Matchbook Romance drummer Aaron Stern and Story Of The Year bassist Adam Russell.

This supergroup of sorts debut release 'D.R.U.G.S' teeters on the line of screamo music that people are probably sick of and a forward step to where the genre could be heading, luckily it is more of the latter. Produced and recorded by John Feldman, the flair and energy of early The Used records is evident, and fans of those albums will more than likely love this, as it sounds similar, and even a little better.

Majority of the songs are rock focused but with touches of electronica, such as the opening track 'If You Think This Song Is About You, It Probably Is', and plenty of Feldman-esque production trickery. The heavy parts are not scared of being brutally heavy, as in the highlight, 'The Only Thing You Talk About', which features the catchiest chorus and biggest ending on the record.

The group have managed to find a perfect balance of the elements that make good, and interesting, modern day rock records, by being heavy, melodic, catchy and combining this with electronics, group chants, softer numbers, the list goes on.

Lyrically, Owens has left the metaphors at the door and written some very up front and honest words, letting the subject matter of the songs be very obvious, making up for the fact that the song titles are well off topic.

Destroy Rebuild Until God Shows is a project that has been anticipated by many, and it is safe to say that it has lived up to the hype, when by all accounts it probably shouldn't have.

1. If You Think This Song Is About You, It Probably Is

2. The Only Thing You Talk About

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

3. Graveyard Dancing

4. Mr. Owl Ate My Metal Worm

5. Sex Life

6. Laminated E.T. Animal

7. Stop Reading, Start Doing Pushups

8. I'm the Rehab, You're the Drugs

9. I'm Here to Take the Sky

10. The Hangman

11. My Swagger Has a First Name