Watch Musicians From AFI, Alexisonfire, Deafheaven & More Cover The Smashing Pumpkins Classic, ‘1979’

11 January 2023 | 3:28 pm | Mary Varvaris
Originally Appeared In

"The street heats the urgency of now/As you see, there's no one around..."

(Pics by Angela Padovan, Travis Delgado & Vanessa Heins)

More AFI More AFI

Members of AFI, Alexisonfire, Deafheaven, Touché Amoré, and Zwan have teamed up to form a supergroup as the latest band on the Two Minutes To Late Night YouTube channel and covered the iconic Smashing Pumpkins hit, 1979.

The video contains performances by Jeremy Bolm, vocalist of Touché Amoré, AFI bassist Hunter Burgan, Deafheaven drummer Daniel Tracy, Alexisonfire guitarist and backing vocalist Wade McNeil, and Gwarsenio Hall of Zwan. Hall also runs the Two Minutes To Late Night YouTube channel.

Like other Two Minutes… videos, all performances were recorded separately and edited together to make something special. The group put a punk spin on 1979 by speeding it up, adding more guitars, and impassioned vocals from Bolm.

A few months ago, Alexisonfire announced that they will return to Australia for the first time since 2017 in February, with the Tassie favourites Luca Brasi joining them on all dates.

Alexisonfire have toured Australia seven times, while co-vocalist Green has stopped here 18 times so far, with ten previous tours under his moniker, City And Colour. The Canadian group released their first album in 13 years, Otherness, in June 2022.

From 2002 to 2009, the band was one of the most popular and influential post-hardcore bands going around. They released four albums that are platinum-certified in Canada: Alexisonfire (2002), Watch Out(2004), Canadian No.1 Crisis (2006), and Old Crows / Young Cardinals (2009). 

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

Tassie heroes Luca Brasi will open for Alexisonfire on all dates, bringing a dynamic live set highlighting tracks from their latest album, 2021’s Everything Is Tenuous, and the wonderfully emotional favourites we know and love.

The Smashing Pumpkins’ twelfth studio album will take the form of a three-act rock opera album titled ATUM (pronounced Autumn), which will drop in April following a drip-feed single release over several months via Billy Corgan’s new podcast, Thirty-Three With William Patrick.

As detailed in the album’s official announcement:

Each act of eleven songs will come out every eleven weeks on digital streaming platforms to coincide with the podcast. Act 1 on November 15, 2022. Act 2 on January 31, 2023. Act 3 along with a special edition boxset featuring all 33 album tracks plus 10 additional unreleased songs, will be released on April 21, 2023.

Penned over the past four years, ATUM serves as a sequel to 1995’s Mellon Collie And The Infinite Sadness and 2000’s Machina/Machine Of God, and the first taste of what to expect is the new track Beguiled.