Link to our Facebook
Link to our Instagram

Vance Joy Garners Perfect Score At International Songwriters Competition

1 May 2015 | 10:36 am | Staff Writer

Kimbra, San Cisco, Thundamentals also won awards

More Vance Joy More Vance Joy

The 2015 International Songwriting Competition (ISC) crowned its winners last night, with Melbourne troubadour Vance Joy winning the coveted Grand Prize, picking up perfect scores for Riptide for the first time in ISC's history.

Joy isn't the only Aussie in the winning ranks, with our very own Kimbra, Paul Mac and Thundamentals along with a number of others wiping the floor with their musical talents in eight other categories.

Aussies should feel a particular gush of pride for our homegrown rockers, who dominated the Rock category with first, second and third place - you have San Cisco (1st place), Kingswood (2nd place) and Apes (3rd place) to thank for this.

Judges for the competition spanned an array of both industry professionals and successful musicians, with the likes of Bastille, Sarah McLachlan, London Grammar, Natasha Bedingfield and executives from record labels such as Warner Bros. Records, Virgin Records UK, MTV International and Motown Records.

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

Last year, Australian women dominated the awards.

Check out the full list of Australian winners below.

Adult Contemporary (AC)

3rd place — Lucy Mason (Sydney, NSW)


2nd place — Paul McDermott (Paul Mac),Jessica Malakouti, W.Cate (Sydney, NSW)

music video

1st place — 90's Music, Kimbra Johnson (Kimbra), Matt Morris, Mark Foster, Timon Martin, Steven McQuinn, directed by Justin Frances (Melbourne, VIC) 


1st place — Kimbra Johnson (Kimbra), Matt Morris, Mark Foster, Timon Martin, Stephen McQuinn (Melbourne, VIC)

pop/top 40

2nd place —Tenielle Neda, Rob Agostini, Denny Thakrar (Perth, WA)


2nd place — Thundamentals (Sydney, NSW)


1st place — San Cisco (Fremantle, WA)
2nd place — Alexander Laska, Fergus Linacre, Jeremy Hunter (Kingswood) (Melbourne, VIC)
3rd place — Benjamin Dowd (Apes) (Melbourne, VIC)

unsigned only 

3rd place — Justin Snowball (Wons Phreely) (Perth, WA)