This Week's Releases

19 November 2015 | 1:34 pm | Staff Writer

NOTS, Jaala, WAFIA and more

Fourteen Nights At Sea — Minor Light (Hobbledehoy)

Minor Light is "all fiery guitars and tectonic shifts of doomy rhythmic progressions, at once beautiful and foreboding". The "finest moment" of the record and the band's discography is Chiltern Justice, a "classic, cinematic post-rock number, built on the usual standards — the slow beat, the tense build, the waves of cascading tremolo guitars and a rousing crescendo". Fourteen Nights At Sea are "breathing new life into a style mired by repetitive tropes and imitators". We gave it Album Of The Week and four stars.

The Tongue — Hard Feelings (Elefant Traks/Inertia)

The Tongue is "at his best walking the tightrope between contemporary relevance and respect for the past"; he is "a rap custodian; an elder statesman here to educate and inspire". We hear "a banging Bag Raiders beat delivered with a heavy dose of political consciousness", with standout tracks Mercy and The Rule. We gave The Tongue three stars.

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

Beat Happening — Look Around (Domino/EMI)

Look Around is a career-spanning compilation with filled with their distinct sound — "minimalist in nature but rife with primitive hooks and enticing repetitive melodies." Their "ramshackle, lo-fi indie pop" shows that "Beat Happening's songs were remarkably consistent over their five-album career", whether sung by Johnson or Lewis. We gave it four stars.

and the rest of the releases…

Adam Harvey — Harvey's Bar… The Backyard Sessions (Sony)
Adele — 25 (XL/Remote Control)
Arca — Mutant (Mute/Create Control)
Boston Manor — Saudade (Pure Noise/Sony)
Don Burrows & James Morrison — In Good Company (ABC/Universal)
Ed Sheeran — 5 (Atlantic/Warner)
Enya — Dark Sky Island (Warner)
Grateful Dead — Fare Thee Well: Celebrating 50 Years Of Grateful Dead (Rhino/Warner)
Jaala — Hard Hold (Wondercore Island/Warner)
Joe Cocker — The Life Of A Man: The Ultimate Hits 1968-2013 (Sony)
Koncept & J57  The Fuel (Kon57 Records)
Major Lazer — Be Together (Australazer EP) (Warner)
Meghan Trainor — Title (Special Edition) (Sony)
Mofoisdead — Brisneyland (MGM)
Natalie Prass — Side By Side (Star Time International/Caroline)
Newton Faulkner — Human Love (BMG/Liberator)
NOTS — We Are Nots (Heavenly Recordings/[PIAS] Australia)
Paradise Lost — Symphony For The Lost (Century Media/Sony)
R.W. Grace — Love It Need It Miss It Want It (Liberation)
Roger Waters — Roger Waters The Wall Soundtrack (Sony)
Samantha Jade — Nine (Sony)
The Fumes — Bloodless (ABC/Universal)
Tinariwen — Live In Paris 2014 (Wedge/[PIAS] Australia)
Tracy Chapman — Greatest Hits (Warner)
Various Artists — Fare Thee Well: Celebrating 50 Years Of Grateful Dead (Rhino/Warner)
Various Artists Empire: Original Soundtrack Season 2, Volume 1 (Sony)
Vessel Born — Stateless (Independent)
WAFIA — XXIX (Future Classic)
Wild Honey — Wild Honey (Independent)