Modern Baseball Unveil Trailer, Cover Art & Track List For New LP 'Holy Ghost'

25 February 2016 | 12:16 pm | Staff Writer

The Philly pop-punk heroes get generous with album deets ahead of their Aussie tour

More Modern Baseball More Modern Baseball

Pennsylvanian pop-punk luminaries Modern Baseball are less than two months away from hitting Aussie shores for their eagerly awaited maiden tour of the country, but the excitement surrounding this band's imminent future just got knocked up another notch with the revelation of a slew of details regarding their forthcoming third album, Holy Ghost.

Among the new info, MoBo have gifted us with a short trailer for the album along with its cover art and track listing. Like its predecessors (Sports' old photo of a toddler holding a fishing rod; You're Gonna Miss It All's black-and-white polaroid of young siblings), the packaging's imagery — which shows guitarist Brendan Lukens in the foreground, face partially obscured by a video camera while bandmate Jake Ewald cheekily peeks out from behind — is delightfully candid and DIY.

Holy Ghost will boast 11 new tracks of Modern Baseball's frenetic, clever, eminently listenable tunes, with titles ranging from the obvious (the opening title track, for example) to the esoteric (Coding These To Lukens) and everywhere in-between. The trailer paints a pretty sombre — or at least melancholic — picture, but this band has made a habit of shining brighter the more they wear their hearts on their sleeves, so it has the unexpected effect of managing to stir a deep sense of excitement for the new album despite the downcast nature of the preview. 

Modern Baseball kick off their Australian tour at Sydney's Oxford Art Factory on 7 April, with shows also lined up in Brisbane and Melbourne (second show announced recently). Tickets are available via XIII Touring and Secret Sounds.

Don't miss a beat with our FREE daily newsletter

Check out the album art and full track list, and watch the album's trailer, below.

Holy Ghost will be released via Run For Cover Records on Friday 13 May.


modern baseball - holy ghost
track list

1. Holy Ghost

2. Wedding Singer

3. Note To Self

4. Mass

5. Everyday

6. Hiding

7. Coding These To Lukens

8. Breathing In Stereo

9. Apple Cider I Don't Mind

10. What If

11. Just Another Face